travel sleuth

travel sleuth

Home - Uncategorized - Cynthia’s Attic – Youth Books 1 & 2

Cynthia’s Attic – Youth Books 1 & 2

Posted on November 9, 2018 in Uncategorized

The Missing Locket (book 1)

The Missing Locket reaches out to young readers and pulls them into a story overflowing with excitement, adventures and laugh out loud dialogue. Set in 1964, best friends, Cynthia and Augusta, are suffering from a bad case of summer-time boredom. Cynthia’s family lives in a mansion of a house, three floors filled with so many rooms just waiting to be explored. After overhearing her parents plans to clean out the attic, the twelve year old is determined to nose through those boxes before all the “good stuff” gets thrown out. Amid all the cobwebs, antiques and creepy-crawlies was an old, rusted trunk, which belonged to Cynthia’s grandmother, Clara. Once opened, the girls discovered a dingy, time worn ballet costume, which Cynthia immediately put on.

Instantly, she began to dance around the attic as if possessed by the spirit of a true ballerina! Shocked and a bit frightened, the two girls decide to leave the attic. But they are drawn back to the old trunk…suddenly, the hot, dusty attic turns cold and everything around them looks shiny and new. Unable to resist the temptation, the girls dig into the trunk again. Intrigued by her friend Cynthia’s dancing episode, apparently brought on by the costume she was wearing, Gus puts on a sailor outfit and much more than a salute takes place! She is transported, back in time, to the year 1914. Not long after she is joined by Cynthia and the two are swept into the adventure of a lifetime. Crossing the Atlantic on a steamship, making friends with a ghost and ultimately solving the mystery of Aunt Isabella’s missing locket.

An entertaining, fanciful adventure that will keep young readers turning pages until the very end. A fast paced, well written, time travel story that will be treasured by all.

The Magic Medallion (book 2)

Mary Cunningham’s second book in the Cynthia’s Attic series, reunites best friends, Cynthia and Gus for another trail-blazing adventure. The amateur sleuths have a nose for trouble, despite their previous experience or maybe because of it, they just can’t resit the urge to visit the mysterious old trunk in the attic. With non-stop action from cover to cover, there’s more than enough twists, turns and danger to keep readers up past well past bedtime.

Climbing the dusty stairs, the girls knew that although there were no ghosts, goblins or giant spiders in the attic, the real excitement was in great-grandmother’s old trunk. Expecting things to be just the way they had left them, the girls were shocked to find Cynthia’s great-grandfather’s circus train in-front of the trunk. Magically the girls are thrust back in time, to the year 1914, where they eventually find themselves forced to perform by a nasty hobo clown. Rescued from the sinister Blackie, by the beautiful, fortune teller, Gabriella, Cynthia and Gus have unwittingly become entangled in the theft of her family’s most cherished treasure. The adventure is wrought with danger as the girls must travel through time and locate the magic medallion. Should they refuse, they may never be able to return to their present-day lives.

In this installment the girls meet a host of new and interesting characters and explore a wide range of settings, brought to life with stunning detail. An irresistible adventure series that takes the reader on a non-stop thrilling ride through time, where the bonds of friendship and the importance of family are conveyed beautifully.

Happy Reading!